Assemblyman Bill Brough Honors The Ecology Center in San Juan Capistrano as the Non-Profit Organization of the Year

San Juan Capistrano – Assembly Member William P. Brough, R-Dana Point names The Ecology Center, San Juan Capistrano as the 2020 Nonprofit of the Year for the 73rd Assembly District.

Located in San Juan Capistrano, The Ecology Center educates, inspires, and involves people in the stewardship of Southern California's environment through hands-on, practical solutions in the areas of Food, Water, Shelter, Waste, and Energy.

“The moms, dads, children, families and students in South Orange County are privileged to have the Ecology Center located here in in San Juan Capistrano. Not only do they provide great community outreach for education to kids and adults, but they attract crowds from all around Southern California for their farm to table ideas,” said Assemblyman Bill Brough. “I am proud to name The Ecology Center as our 2020 Nonprofit of the Year.”

The Ecology Center is founded on the principle that individuals can make a difference. Founder and CEO Evan Marks encourages visitors to "be part of the solution!" As a non-profit, The Ecology Center’s community of members provides support funding for the work they are doing in Orange County and the surrounding areas.

The Ecology Center provides a variety of programs, such as an educational partnership with their neighboring elementary and middle schools, as well as the Boys & Girls Club, farm to table dinners, culinary and garden workshops, documentary nights and speaker events, and a 7-day-per-week local organic Farm Stand. 

Thriving ecosystems nourish our community. The Ecology Center believes everyone should have access to the tools, knowledge, and skills that promote healthy communities in the 21st century and they design spaces that inspire interaction with our ecosystem and transform our relationship with each other. For more information on The Ecology Center, visit

The Ecology Center


Assemblyman William P. Brough represents the 73rd Assembly District in the California Legislature, which includes the communities of Aliso Viejo, Coto de Caza, Dana Point, Ladera Ranch, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Las Flores, Mission Viejo, Rancho Santa Margarita, San Clemente, and San Juan Capistrano.